Orange Sherbet Push-Ups

When I was a little kid I never thought that life as I knew it would end. But it did.

I didn’t know that the care-free life I was living would soon end and be replaced with responsibility, decision-making, and problem-solving. But it did.

Looking back, I see that childhood was a completely different life. I can’t pinpoint exactly when that life ended. It was more of a gradual thing.

I thought about adulthood when I was a child, but I thought about it from a child’s point of view. I believed that when I was an adult, I would own a sky blue VW bug and, oddly enough, my name would change to Lisa.

Oh, and all of this would happen at the age of fifteen, because that’s when adulthood began. Duh.

I never thought there would be a time when all of us kids would move away from home. I never thought there would be nights when all of us kids wouldn’t sit out on the picnic table, eating orange sherbet push-ups, after our baths. I never thought there would be a time when I wouldn’t fall asleep in my bedroom with the green walls.

Those things never dawn on a kid.

The more I think about my childhood, the more I’m so thankful for parents who filled the first part of my life with so many good things. We were a lucky bunch of kids. We didn’t have a lot of toys. We didn’t have a TV or watch movies very often. We did some very weird things that I’m utterly embarrassed to think about now, but we had some awesome times.

My mother probably remembers all the squabbles, yelling, and tears much more than I do. I remember the race track around the driveway, the pretend soccer field in the front yard, the playhouse we made under a cedar tree in the woods.

I remember running naked around the house, laughing so hard I peed on the stairs, and all the hours of playing dress up.

I never thought about all of that ending.

I miss it now.

Being a kid is great, but no one ever tells a little kid to value those days because they’re flying by and they won’t be back. 


Maybe that’s a good thing, though.


 Ignorance is bliss, right?

2 thoughts on “Orange Sherbet Push-Ups

  1. I used to think adulthood started at 16, and when I grew up my name would be Jessica and I’d have a turquoise metallic bike. I think you were more mature than myself haha

Leave a Reply

