Tumblr

In addition to this blog, I have a little tumblr: Good Grief, Miss Agnes.

There have been numerous times when I’ve thought about deleting it. It has sat neglected more than once. For awhile I debated the whole concept of Tumblr. Some people use Tumblr as a forum for their photography or writing. Others, like me, simply reblog what others have posted. For the most part there is nothing wrong with this, but I could never be sure if the proper credit was going to the proper people. I never purposely posted an image without linking back, but in the shuffle of it all there’s bound to be mistakes: no credit given or credit going to the wrong source. It’s something I worried about.

In the end my thoughts on Tumblr (my tumblr, more specifically) are this: It is a space to curate beautiful images that inspire me. I am not trying to promote or demote anyone else’s material. When I need a little visual relaxation or inspiration, I go to Tumblr. When an image really stands out to me, I click the little reblog button and send it to the archives of my site. I take no credit for those images. The only thing I’ve done is curated a inspiring collection of beautiful images. The credit goes fully to the artists who have created them. Mainly, I do it for me. I’m glad if others are inspired by the collection I’ve made, but overall it is for me.

What are your thoughts on Tumblr? Do you have one?

Here are some of my favorites on Tumblr: Gjennom fotografierCatie AnnieThe Art of LoveThe Wild JulySuvi ViitanenLiz LemonnA CynosureModster 91Humble ForteLady In Blue JeansBucolic Beauty, and Cubicle Refugee

Images: one, two, three, four

Leave a Reply

