Those People

This summer I have worked with the most diverse group of people. Some have become great friends and I’m so glad to have met them. They made working all summer long tolerable, enjoyable even. Others….well, they’re the people this post is all about. Those people. The ones that, despite your best effort, you just cannot get along with. The ones who seemingly can never be made happy. The ones who put a giant damper on your day. We’ve all met those people some time or another.

For the most part, I try to get along with everyone. There are very few people whom I dislike. I met those few people this summer. My boyfriend heard plenty of day-end rants from me about those people. Despite my ranting, I’ve realized that those people have actually taught me something. I’d even go as far to say that they’ve made me into a better person.

Those people have taught me how to let things roll off my back and not take everything so personally. They’ve taught me that you can’t always make everyone happy and there’s no point in killing yourself trying. Sometimes it is simply impossible to get along with everyone. I knew that before, but it was emphasized for me a lot this summer.

There’s always going to be people who we don’t get along with. There’s probably even going to be  a lot of people who we really can’t stand. But finding a way to work with them, inspite of that, is a really great talent to have.

On one hand I feel a little stupid writing all of this. Surprise, surprise, the world is not always a happy sunny place.

Still…

I’m grateful for experiences like this. By the end of the summer I can truly say that having to work with those people has been very good for me. So to those people I say, thank you.

Leave a Reply

