Currently

Loving: The last few days of summer. Every lazy moment, every relaxing evening. I’m trying to soak it all up as much as possible, because it is quickly coming to an end. This week is already filled up and next week classes start. (!) It feels like this summer has sped by lightning fast, but it always feels that way, right?

Reading: The Great Husband Hunt by Laurie Graham. I started it this past weekend on our ride home from the beach and I’m hooked. I love Laurie Graham! I’ve read two of her other books and loved them as well, so I shouldn’t be surprised that this one is just as good. Her style of writing makes me chuckle. On the ride back from Florida, I kept laughing out loud at the book. Mark would want to know what was funny so I would read the portion to him and he would look at me like I was crazy. I guess it’s not so funny out of context.

Watching: I finally got caught up on Mad Men and Game of Thrones last week.   Now, I haven’t been watching much except for Rookie Blue. I watched the most recent episode last night with Mark. Have you seen it? Do you know what happens? Don’t worry, I won’t spoil it but I was sad once it ended!

Listening to: Shovels & Rope. I discovered them on Spotify this morning, while I was packing. I’ve been listening to their album all day.

Thinking about: How tough next week is going to be. Are any of you in a long-distance relationship? It’s really not that hard for Mark and I because we’ve always lived hours away from each other. The hardest part is saying goodbye after being together. I’m not looking forward to that at all, but it’s hard to not think about it.

Anticipating: This coming weekend. Before the goodbyes take place, Mark will be traveling with me to Richmond for a long weekend. We’ll be spending it on the river with tons of family and good friends. I’m so looking forward to it, but dreading it all ending as well. Does that ever happen to you? I have this problem all the time. I’ll get really excited about something (like a vacation or trip), but soon I’ll start thinking about how it’s almost over and I don’t want it to end. The result is that I’m thinking about it ending so much that I stop enjoying what I was so excited about it in the first place. Geez.

So what have you been up to recently? Credit goes to the lovely Danielle for this post inspiration.

***The photo above was taken on our trip to Florida this past weekend. Our GPS wigged out a little and decided to take us on some country back roads. It was awesome! I couldn’t pronounce the names of most of the little towns we went through, but they were all so cute. I kept yelling at Mark to stop the car so I could take pictures. We had so much fun that we took back roads all the way home too.

2 thoughts on “Currently

  1. I found your blog through a comment you made on E-tells-tales and you have officially made my list of blogs I have to read every day. :) Also, yes, I was in a long-distance relationship with my husband for a little under a year. I have no idea how you have been doing it for this long. That’s amazing. My husband (then boyfriend) and I lived in different countries so we got to see each other once in person during those 9 months apart. After our week was up and I left on the plane to go home, we both started sobbing…so yeah. Goodbyes are the worst. But at least you know you’ll get to see each other soon, so you have to look forward to those good moments.

Leave a Reply

