Names

I love names. They are so interesting. Some have a great ring to them when spoken, while others look beautiful written out. I love names so much that I’ll spend hours on websites like this one, looking at names. The site groups similar names together and offers suggestions based on other names you like.

When someone has a baby, I’m not very interested in who’s nose the child has, just it’s name. And I feel genuinely sorry when parents give their child a boring name. I thought about listing a few examples, but would rather not offend anyone. It’s not your fault your name is boring.

On the flip side, it’s not a person’s fault that their name is strange or weird. This will be my children’s case, I’m afraid. I don’t like crazy far-out names, but I do like them to be unique and preferably not on the Top 10 Most Popular Names list. The names I like I hold dear and feel as if I have some unspoken claim to them. When I hear of someone naming their child one of “my” names, I instantly get frustrated. Pathetic, right? I will not be having children for quite awhile. By the time my future children have their names, these people will be teenagers, if not older. And who knows if these names will still be some of my favorites.

When I was little, I thought the most beautiful names in the world were Cindy, Lisa, Melanie, and Natalie for girls and William, Benjamin, and Harrison for boys. There’s certainly nothing wrong with these names, but you have to admit they’re not very unique these days.

Later, I fell in love with the name Reagan for a girl. I still like that name, but it’s becoming more and more popular and has thus fell lower on my list.

Here are a few of my favorites at the moment (and I promise not to bite your head off if you steal them. I’m slowly coming to terms with the fact that these actually are not “my” names):

Teo, Dax, Asher, Amos, Silas, Blade for boys

Harper, Asa, Lucia, Darby, Marlow, Alex for girls

And middle names (this is where I get crazy): Blue, Friday, August, Cash, Brick, Pilar, Luc, Rio

I often wonder if these will still be my favorites when I have children or if I’ll wince at names like these. I also wonder what will happen if I give my future children these names and they miraculously appear on the Top 10 Most Popular Name list. Uh-oh.

Tell me, what are some of your favorite names?

This post was inspired by Joanna’s recent post on baby names.

Leave a Reply

